MP congratulates the newly elected Members for the Youth Parliament

On Saturday 5th February Sheryll Murray, MP for South East Cornwall, congratulated the new members for the UK Youth Parliament and particularly for East Cornwall, Connor Flew.  She also congratulated Simon Sparrow on his election as Deputy Member for East Cornwall.

Sheryll attended the annual event at the offices of Cornwall Council in Truro to elect Members and Deputies for the three Cornish seats (East, Mid and West) with Sarah Newton MP and George Eustice MP.  The Parliament gives teenagers a voice which is listened to by both national and local government through events, campaigns, speeches and debates.

Following the event Sheryll commented, “I was very impressed by the high quality of the members of the Youth Parliament and congratulate all who took part.  It fills me with confidence that the next generation of politicians are of such a high standard already.

“I look forward to working with all the Members and the Deputies of the UK Youth Parliament and in particular with the local Member, Connor Flew and the Deputy Member, Simon Sparrow.”


Pictured:  A group shot of all the elected Members and Deputies with local MPs.